TBR March

[English below]

Ik heb echt heel lang en heel hard nagedacht over hoe ik het boekengerelateerde thema in m’n blog zou verwerken en ben er eindelijk uit. In het begin van iedere maand post ik een TBR-lijst (To Be Read) en op het einde van de maand schrijf ik dan een review over mijn favoriete boek uit die lijst, alsook misschien welke ik niet heb kunnen lezen. Natuurlijk zullen er af en toe ook boek-hauls zijn, waarover ik dan ook zal bloggen. Laat me weten wat je van dit systeem vindt! (Noot: voor al mijn andere gelezen boeken + reviews/ratings, kunnen jullie me toevoegen op mijn Goodreads account)

Voor deze maand dan heb ik 3 boeken die ik wil lezen.

1. 13 ways of looking at a fat girl door Mona Awad 
Deze boek is nog maar recentelijk verschenen, maar hij stond wel al sinds februari op mijn lijstje. Ik heb hem dus gepre-ordered en vorige week lag hij in de brievenbus! Aangezien hij dus nog niet vertaald is naar het Nederlands, is hier de Engelse omschrijving van Goodreads :

Growing up in the suburban hell of Misery Saga (a.k.a. Mississauga), Lizzie has never liked the way she looks—even though her best friend Mel says she’s the pretty one. She starts dating guys online, but she’s afraid to send pictures, even when her skinny friend China does her makeup: she knows no one would want her if they could really see her. So she starts to lose. With punishing drive, she counts almonds consumed, miles logged, pounds dropped. She fights her way into coveted dresses. She grows up and gets thin, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband, her reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl?

In her brilliant, hilarious, and at times shocking debut, Mona Awad simultaneously skewers the body image-obsessed culture that tells women they have no value outside their physical appearance, and delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. As caustically funny as it is heartbreaking,13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl introduces a vital new voice in fiction. (Goodreads)

2. Fire colour one door Jenny Valentine
Ik geef toe, deze zette ik oorspronkelijk op mijn verlanglijstje wegens de mooie en kleurrijke cover, maar wanneer ik dan een korte samenvatting las, was ik helemaal verkocht! Ook deze is nog niet vertaald dus post ik hier weer de Engelse samenvatting van Goodreads :

A teenage girl will soon discover, there are some things which burn even brighter than fire.
Iris’s father Ernest is at the end of his life.
Her best friend Thurston seems like a distant memory to her.
Her mother has declared war. She means to get her hands on Ernest’s priceless art collection so that she can afford to live the high life.
But Ernest has other ideas.
There are things he wants Iris to know. Things he can tell her and things that must wait till he’s gone.
What she does after that is up to her.
 (Goodreads)

3. The Rosie effect door Graeme Simsion
Dit is het vervolg op het boek ‘The Rosie Project’ geschreven door dezelfde auteur. Persoonlijk vind ik dat het bij het eerste boek wel mocht stoppen, maar aangezien ik zo iemand ben die niet midden in een reeks boeken kan stoppen, lees ik ook deze maar. Deze boek is wel reeds vertaald, maar in de Nederlandse beschrijving zit eigenlijk een spoiler, dus bij deze ook hier een samenvatting van Goodreads :

THE ROSIE PROJECT WAS COMPLETE BUT I WAS UNPREPARED FOR THE ROSIE EFFECT.
GREETINGS. My name is Don Tillman. I am forty-one years old. I have been married to Rosie Jarman, world’s most perfect woman, for ten months and ten days.
Marriage added significant complexity to my life. When we relocated to New York City, Rosie brought three maximum-size suitcases. We abandoned the Standardised Meal System and agreed that sex should not be scheduled in advance.
Then Rosie told me we had ‘something to celebrate’, and I was faced with a challenge even greater than finding a partner.
I have attempted to follow traditional protocols and have sourced advice from all six of my friends, plus a therapist and the internet.
The result has been a web of deceit. I am now in danger of prosecution, deportation and professional disgrace.
And of losing Rosie forever. (Goodreads)

DSC_0810_1

Hebben jullie al één van deze boeken gelezen? Laat me weten wat jullie ervan vonden!

Saskia


I honestly had to think long and hard about how I was going to introduce and process this book-related theme in my blog, but I found a solution. In the beginning of each month, I will put a post online about my TBR-list (To Be Read) and at the end of the month or beginning of the next month, I will then post a small review on here about my favorite book from the list, additionally also mentioning which books I didn’t get to read/finish in time. Ofcourse there will be book-hauls from time to time, which I will then also post about. Let me know if you have any comments about this system! (Note: for all my other read books + reviews/ratings, add me on Goodreads!)

For this month, I have three books that I’d like to read.

1. 13 ways of looking at a fat girl by Mona Awad
This book only recently got released but it has been on my wishlist since February. So I pre-ordered this book and it arrived last week! This is a short description from Goodreads:

Growing up in the suburban hell of Misery Saga (a.k.a. Mississauga), Lizzie has never liked the way she looks—even though her best friend Mel says she’s the pretty one. She starts dating guys online, but she’s afraid to send pictures, even when her skinny friend China does her makeup: she knows no one would want her if they could really see her. So she starts to lose. With punishing drive, she counts almonds consumed, miles logged, pounds dropped. She fights her way into coveted dresses. She grows up and gets thin, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband, her reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl?

In her brilliant, hilarious, and at times shocking debut, Mona Awad simultaneously skewers the body image-obsessed culture that tells women they have no value outside their physical appearance, and delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. As caustically funny as it is heartbreaking,13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl introduces a vital new voice in fiction. (Goodreads)

2. Fire colour one by Jenny Valentine 
I admit, I first added this book to my wishlist just because of the beautiful and vibrantly-coloured cover. When I then started reading the short summary, I thought it’d be something I liked so that was another incentive to add it to my to-read list. Goodread’s short summary :

A teenage girl will soon discover, there are some things which burn even brighter than fire.
Iris’s father Ernest is at the end of his life.
Her best friend Thurston seems like a distant memory to her.
Her mother has declared war. She means to get her hands on Ernest’s priceless art collection so that she can afford to live the high life.
But Ernest has other ideas.
There are things he wants Iris to know. Things he can tell her and things that must wait till he’s gone.
What she does after that is up to her.
 (Goodreads)

3. The Rosie effect by Graeme Simsion
This is actually the sequel of the Rosie project written by the same author. I do admit though, I’d find it nice if it had stopped after the first book, but since I am a person that cannot stop reading in the middle of a series I’m just going to sit through this book too. Again, short summary from Goodreads :

THE ROSIE PROJECT WAS COMPLETE BUT I WAS UNPREPARED FOR THE ROSIE EFFECT.
GREETINGS. My name is Don Tillman. I am forty-one years old. I have been married to Rosie Jarman, world’s most perfect woman, for ten months and ten days.
Marriage added significant complexity to my life. When we relocated to New York City, Rosie brought three maximum-size suitcases. We abandoned the Standardised Meal System and agreed that sex should not be scheduled in advance.
Then Rosie told me we had ‘something to celebrate’, and I was faced with a challenge even greater than finding a partner.
I have attempted to follow traditional protocols and have sourced advice from all six of my friends, plus a therapist and the internet.
The result has been a web of deceit. I am now in danger of prosecution, deportation and professional disgrace.
And of losing Rosie forever. (Goodreads)

So, these books are on my to-read list this month. Have you guys read any of these books yet? If so, which ones did/didn’t you like and why?

Saskia

Leave a Reply

