Origins face masks

When I went beautyshopping a few weeks ago, I came across this cute set of four Origins masks. I had heard of the brand before, but I had never seen them here in Belgium, or tried them anywhere else for that matter. So, since it were four mini face masks and it was on sale, I decided to give them a try. By purchasing the mini versions I also decided I couldn’t do much wrong as I wouldn’t be throwing away a full bottle of product when I didn’t like it. So for the past couple of weeks I have been testing them for you. Here’s what I think of them.

DSC_1174_1.JPG

I wish I could say I absolutely loved them and kept using them, but honestly none of them worked for me.

Clear Improvement
DSC_1181_1This is a charcoal mask that clears the pores. I was excited to try this out, because I am a sucker when it comes to ‘purifying’ masks such as mud masks, like the Sephora one I reviewed, so I decided this would be something equal to that. Never ever was I more wrong in my life. First of all, the structure is completely different. I found it really hard to spread it out equally and honestly, it was just really hard to get my face covered without using a ton of product. And I thought that’d be the worst. It wasn’t. I then proceeded to let it dry, it kinda tingled but nothing too bad and then it was time to get it off… It was a bitch to get off, I nearly had to scrub off my face to get the product off, leaving my face completely red and irritated and warm. I tried this scrub twice, the effect was even worse the second time. I don’t think I’ll ever use this one again.


Drink Up IntensiveDSC_1187_1.JPG
This one has the best scent in the bunch. Whereas the other ones smell like medical creams (I’m not even joking), this one smells kind of nice so I had to try it out. I did not feel a difference ‘overnight’ as it is said to be an ‘overnight mask to quench skin’s thirst’. Honestly, I have creams that pretty much are said to do the same and of which I actually feel like they do something, this one just felt like a daycream you put on and then gets into your skin. It doesn’t feel greasy on your skin, but after 5 minutes you don’t even feel like it is still on there working its job. Also, in the morning like I said I don’t feel like my skin is particularly hydrated today or anything. I’m not too sure if this one works and I wouldn’t purchase it again.

Out of Trouble 
DSC_1186_1
This one I was most skeptic about, because I have seriously never heard of a cream or mask that can solve problem skin in 10 mins. I tried it out once when I had a breakout, it didn’t do anything, it just smells like medical cream and that’s it. To make matters worse, I actually put it on some impurities and I feel like they continued to stay on my skin longer than they normally would have when using my daily routine. So, this is definitely a no go for me.

GinZing DSC_1183_1
This is one that I actually looked forward to. It is said to wake up tired skin, so ofcourse I immediately tried it out after sleeping bad. Again, it didn’t do anything for me. I have makeup primers that actually work better than this in making it seem like I’m all refreshed and ready for the day. It also didn’t feel particularly ‘refreshing’ on my face and I don’t like the scent. The scent of this kind of reminds me of those creams you put on to keep mosquitos away, or some medical cream. I’m not sure. I also don’t like this one

So, in short I was really bummed after trying out these products. I was looking forward to them so much and they disappointed me one by one.

Have you tried any of these products?

Saskia

2 thoughts on “Origins face masks

Leave a Reply

