Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette

I have always wanted an eyeshadow palette with orange and red tints, so I have been eyeing this ABH palette ever since it came out. I now finally got my hands on it and I thought I’d share some swatches and thoughts on this with you guys. I haven’t had time to play around with it yet, so expect some looks coming your way soon on my instagram, facebook or maybe a blogpost here too :). But let’s just get started!

DSC_4218_2The first thing I noticed when you get the palette is the beautiful pink velvetty cover, which I absolutely love. It is so soft and so pretty. However, I also feel like this would easily get dirty and is quite hard to clean, so that’s kind of a disadvantage, but it is still pretty nonetheless.

The reason I picked up this palette is because of the gorgeous orange and red tints, since I didn’t really have any of those in my collection yet. It is also my first higher-end palette, since most of the palettes I have only cost me like 15€ max. This ABH palette retails for 42$.

The palette itself contains 14 shades in total, of which 11 are matte colours and 3 are metallic. On top of that, there is a double-sided brush in the palette itself.

Now let’s get on to the swatches, I swatched top and bottom row separately:

DSC_4236_1L-R: Tempera, Golden ochre, Vermeer, Buon fresco, Antique bronze, Love letter, Cyprus umber
DSC_4237_1L-R: Raw sienna, Burnt orange, Primavera, Red ochre, Venetian red, Warm taupe, Realgar

The metallic shades are Vermeer, Antique bronze and Primavera. The antique bronze metallic is not as prominent as the other two metallics, but if you look closely you can see some shimmer in there. Furthermore, I think that both Vermeer and Primavera would work nicely as a highlight, for brows, cheeks, nose, lips and inner corner of the eyes.

As you can see of the swatches above, all of the colours are nicely pigmented and are really opaque. There is not one colour I don’t like. They glide on easily too, kind of creamy, and not powdery at all.

So overall, this palette has made quite a nice impression and I cannot wait to use it and create some nice looks. Do you have this palette? If so, what do you think about it?

Saskia

Follow me here:

Instagram
Facebook
Bloglovin’
Twitter

 

21 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette

  1. This is my favourite palette at the moment and probably my favourite… EVER. I love the shades Burnt Orange, Love letter and Red Ochre the most but they are all gorgeous. Agreed about the packaging. Mine gets dirty even when am I being careful not to ruin it, Although I wipe with a cloth and It’s not too hard to clean thankfully! xx

    1. Oh okay, because I feel like dirt and dust would really get in there but thank god it seems easy to clean! Love letter is absolutely gorgeous but all of them are gorgeous x

        1. Yes, I would leave it in there too haha. But I usually tend to keep such things or more expensive things in their packaging just for safety haha x

    1. They are really pretty! This palette is still one of my favorites to work with. You can do so many different looks, from subtle to a nice pop of color as well. X

Leave a Reply

