Colorescience Sunforgettable sunscreen

Hey guys, long time no see! I have been busy enjoying my last few weeks in California and then since last week, I’ve been back home and I seriously have the worst jetlag ever. Anyways, I have tons of product reviews coming your way the next few weeks, so stay tuned for more reviews. As soon as my exams are over I also plan on doing more makeup looks. If there are any requests, please let me know. Okay, so onto today’s product review!

DSC_1684-1So since I’m playing around with makeup a bit more than I used to these last few months, I decided I needed a sunscreen that would apply well over my makeup. A regular facial sunscreen was not an option, since that could ruin your makeup when applying it, so I went searching a little more into depth and actually discovered that there is such a thing as mineral powder foundation. I read some reviews on these and decided to opt for the Colorescience Sunforgettable sunscreen. I do have to say I wasn’t really sure about buying this because of the high price. I purchased the SPF 50 version in the colour Fair on Sephora.com for 64$ which is quite pricey in my opinion, especially for something that you use a lot. There is also a SPF 30 version that is 57$, but since I have really fair skin I decided to go for the highest sunscreen factor. Let’s get to the actual review

Product

The instruction video online said to swirl it a couple of times on the back of your hand toDSC_1686-1 dispense the powder onto the brush. I stood there swirling the brush over the back of my hand for like 5 solid minutes until the first powder came out, so you might need to have some patience for the product to actually work.

There are 4 shades available for this product: fair, medium, tan and deep. It is not the largest skintone range. However, I feel like the product colors could work universally on different skintones. Ofcourse I should not take the tan shade, but as long as you’re in your skintone range I think it should work as you are not putting a thick layer on your face.

Packaging

I really like the packaging. It is compact and lightweight so easy to carry around with you (in comparison with those other sunscreen tubes). I also find it really nice how you can protect your brush (and make sure those hairs are not bend to every side possible) by using the protective tube that goes over it before you close the sunscreen tube in its whole – see photo below.

*I’m not sure it is called a tube, this kind of packaging so let me know how it’s called in the comment section down below!

DSC_1690-1Scent

The powder smells like regular sunscreen. The scent is definitely strongest when you open your tube. Once you apply it on your face it pretty much disappears right there. So you won’t smell like sunscreen (or at least your face won’t).

Effectiveness

This has honestly worked like a gem for me. My face has not been sunburnt once when I used this product. I even used it in Vegas in 46°C heat (115F) and I didn’t sunburn so that is when I knew it was worth the money. The only downside to this product is that it is hard to see where you’ve already applied the sunscreen, so I tend to go over my face twice to make sure no spots are left unprotected. I also apply it on my hair every now and then, since my head also tends to get sunburnt. This powder does not leave any residu in my hair, it does not look like I poured a pot of powder on there, does not leave my hair greasy and actually works perfect in protecting my head!

Another thing I really like about this is that it also works as a mattifying powder. If your face starts to get a little greasy, just swirl the brush around on your face and you’re good to go! Be careful when using the product without mirror though, because sometimes you have little powder stains on your face and that might just look weird ;).

In short, I would definitely repurchase this product even though it is a bit pricier. I feel like this product would work very well for you ladies who wear makeup everyday as it works both mattifying and as sunscreen! It would definitely also work for those people who just don’t feel like putting cream sunscreen on your face every now and then. I honestly prefer this one over actually getting my hands greasy and getting it in my hair and making my hair greasy. You just brush your face a little bit and bam, you’re good to go for a while!

Have you tried mineral powder sunscreen? What are your thoughts? Let me know!

Saskia

You can follow me here:

Instagram
Facebook
Bloglovin’
Twitter

5 thoughts on “Colorescience Sunforgettable sunscreen

Leave a Reply

