Hourglass: worth it?

Hello there. Even though it’s been more than a month since a friend and I passed by the flagship store in Venice, California, I do still want to review not only my experience there but also the products. So keep on reading to find out what I think about the brand

Store

First of all, I want to say something about the store in Venice and the help of the ladies there. In short, it was phenomenal. The longer version: I had seen they had come out with this new stick foundation and I really wanted to try it but I didn’t know what shade to get, and picking shades on the internet is always tricky. So I went into the store and asked a lady* to help me with color matching my foundation. She did not only help me with the foundation, she also gave me a full makeover, giving tips as she went. Even though I couldn’t purchase all the products she used on my face at the moment, I did write them down however for future purchases. It was a great experience, the store itself is nicely organised, the ladies were very helpful and I will be revisiting asap when I’m in California.

So if you’re close to Venice, California, make sure to stop by 1351 Abbot Kinney Blvd.

* I don’t remember her name, but all of them were very helpful

Products

I got both the Ambient Lighting palette and the Vanish Seamless finish foundation stick in the color Shell. Let’s look at the products separately.

Ambient lighting palette – dsc_0391-2This product had been on my list for a while, but I honestly always thought it was a little expensive. I still think it is expensive, but it is SO WORTH the money. You can have a standard palette, which I got, or you can customize your palette and choose three colors you want for a few dollars more. I am planning on buying the custom palette soon, but for now the standard one will do.
The three colors in this palette are Dim light, Incandescent light and Radiant light. I wanted to show you swatches, but honestly the colors are so subtle that you can barely see them on the swatches. All three give off a very natural look, I use both Dim light to set my makeup and Incandescent light & Radiant light are shades I use as highlighters. You can also use them as a subtle eyeshadow or for the inner corners of your eyes.

 

dsc_0103-1_1

They are really subtle in color, but that does not mean they are not pigmented or not worth it. I really like this palette because you can build up the highlighters, but I also like the fact that you can wear it for everyday purposes without having too much glitter on your face – do not get me wrong, I myself like wearing glittery highlight, but I feel like it is too much for everyday work or school makeup, so this palette is perfect for that.

The packaging of the palette is absolutely gorgeous, simple yet very elegant, classy and strong. There is also a mirror on the inside of the top.

Worth it? Hell yes.

Vanish seamless foundation stick dsc_0399-1– I am still kind of on the fence regarding this one. The foundation itself is absolutely wonderful, it doesn’t get cakey, can be built up very easily, looks very natural and does not make my face greasy during the day. However, I feel like I would prefer a liquid foundation as I feel like I need to use a lot of product everytime I wear this, since you have to kind of ‘swatch’ the stick on your face.

On the other side, I do really like the fact that it can also be used as concealer. I personally like the fact that it pretty much drowns out my undereye circles and apparently, you can also contour with the stick (but I haven’t tried that one yet, as it is on the pricier side). So lots of different opportunities here. I included a before and after picture of the foundation, you can definitely build up to more coverage, but I felt like this was enough for me personally.

Again, the packaging is in the same gorgeous color as the palette, with a very elegant and classy look.

Worth it? I would say yes. So far it is the first foundation that I discovered that does not make my face cakey or all greasy after a few hours, so I will love this baby ’til the end of its lifetime.

 

Have you guys tried any hourglass products yet? If so, what is your favorite product?

Saskia

 

Follow me here:

Instagram
Facebook
Bloglovin’
Twitter

9 thoughts on “Hourglass: worth it?

Leave a Reply

