Catrice Cosmetics

Hey guys! If you hear Catrice Cosmetics, the first thing you think about is ‘budget makeup’, am I right? Well, that’s what I always think. So I went ahead and purchased their new HD liquid coverage foundation with matching concealer as well as a new (Limited Edition) blush. So keep reading if you want to find out what I think about these products!

1-3527
Foundation + Concealer

Let’s first start by looking at the HD liquid coverage foundation and concealer. I bought these as a set, so they ‘belong’ together. I purchased the shade 010, which is light beige for the foundation and porcellain – Yes, it is spelled this way on the product – for the concealer. For both together it was around 8€, if I remember correctly.

Foundation

The foundation comes in a glass bottle with a pipette, which I think is really nice. I feel like it makes it more hygienic with this, as your fingers and brush won’t dip in it everytime you use it. However, using this is not as easy as it seems, either you have to put foundation on your beauty blender or brush, but then you’re wasting foundation as it will no doubt get into your brush or beauty blender. But putting it onto your face is also quite the challenge as it is quite runny so you have to lean backwards or sideways depending on how you apply it.

The foundation itself is good. It is not full coverage, I would say it’s more medium coverage. It doesn’t make your face shiny during the day either. However, I feel like if I do not hydrate/moisturise my face well before applying this foundation it will feel drying on the skin. So if you have very dry skin, this might not be the foundation for you. Another thing I also don’t really like is the way it sits on my face. It just sits weird, like it’s accentuate the tiny hairs on my face, making it look a little cakey really easily. But it’s good for photos in my opinion, and if you go in with a light hand. I’m not sure as to how long it actually stays on, since I usually don’t wear makeup for longer than a couple of hours.

Concealer1-3507

I’m going to be straight-forward, I do not like the concealer. It is lighter than the foundation even though it is the same number as the foundation, but it almost looks greyish on my face. And it just doesn’t sit well. It makes me look dead instead of awake.

On the photo, you can see the difference between both eyes. Under the eye area on the left eye I applied the concealer, but didn’t do so on the right eye. As you can see, it looks almost chalky and even though I blended it really well, it looks like I didn’t blend at all.

Blush

The blush is something I 100% love. This is a Limited Edition though, so I don’t know if you can still get it. I also don’t remember the price but I think it was around 5€.

1-3529The packaging is amazing. I love the wooden design a lot, and I also really like that instead
of flipping open, you have to ‘rotate’ this blush open. No worries, it won’t open in your bags because when you close it, it’s closed with a magnet, so it will stay closed. You know what’s also fun?? The name of the blush is ‘Walk in the Woods’. Is that not a perfect name to go with such a beautiful packaging?

The blush itself is this gorgeous pink color, which is very pigmented. Just a little swipe will do, or you can build it up as well. It’s also very blendable and just overall a really nice product.

I applied it first with a light hand (first two photos) and then went a little heavier to get the color on camera well (third photo).

Swatches

From left to right: Foundation in 010 light beige – Concealer in 010 Porcellain – Blush in ‘Walk in the Woods’

1-3534_1

Conclusion

Whereas I do not like the concealer, I do really like the blush. I’m not too sure about the foundation yet, I will try it out a few more times to see if I maybe start loving it (or maybe not). But overall, I think that Catrice does have some really good products out there for us to try, and I love that it is a budget makeup brand, so it is affordable for almost everyone!

Have you tried any Catrice Cosmetics products? If so, what did you think about them? Let me know in the comments!

Saskia

 

Follow me here:

Instagram
Facebook
Bloglovin’
Twitter

 

13 thoughts on “Catrice Cosmetics

  1. Good lord! What happened with the concealer? It looks so gray in the photo!
    That blush is adorable tho. And the foundation isn’t too bad either. It gives a soft matte look, without looking like it completely dried the skin. Nice!

    1. I know right! It looks gray in real life too, and chalky also! The foundation is okay, a bit cakey sometimes, but it’s definitely okay for the price. Thank you X

    1. Thank you! I don’t remember the smell and I already gave it away, but other than that I also didn’t like it. And I gave away the foundation too, because after a while I realised that one wasn’t for me either. X

Leave a Reply

