Sleek makeup: First impression

Hey guys! I don’t want to bombard you with several blogposts at once about face masks, so I’m switching it up with some makeup in between. Today, I will be “reviewing” some Sleek Makeup products. Think of it more like a first impression, since I haven’t had the chance to play around with any of the products yet. Anyways, let’s get started!

I have three products to discuss with you today, so I will be doing the usual and looking at them separately. All of these products are drugstore and are very affordable.

Let’s start with the star of the show, the Solstice Highlighting palette!

Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette

2-4436
Top: Ecliptic – Hemisphere ** Bottom: Subsolar – Equinox 

I honestly never cared too much about this palette, but then it was in a holiday set, so I couldn’t resist it. There is 4 colors in there: 1 cream highlighter (Ecliptic), 1 silky shimmer powder (Subsolar) and two baked powder highlighters (Hemisphere-Equinox).

The packaging of the palette is absolutely gorgeous. It has this golden mirror coating, which I really love, except for the fact that you can see fingerprints super easily. However, it just looks really luxurious and high-end. The feel is not very high-end though as it is lightweight, but I can live with that.

I was pleasantly surprised by the texture 1-4440of Ecliptic. It’s a gorgeous bronzey pink color, nicely pigmented, and is very opaque as well. Subsolar didn’t really convince me, it’s overall just a weird texture. It’s not cream, but it’s not powder either, and when swatching it feels like a very powdery cream, if that even makes sense. This also made it very hard to get it to swatch evenly everywhere.

As for the two powder highlighters, I really like them. Pigmented, opaque, not chalky. I also really like the colors of these.

Swatches
2-4449
L-R: Equinox – Hemisphere – Subsolar – Ecliptic
2-4455
Same swatches, but in direct sunlight

Sleek Matte Me liquid lipstick in Birthday Suit

2-4425

As you all know, I’m a lipstick fanatic so obviously I had to try out this brand as well. I had had my eyes on this particular lipstick for a couple of months now, I just never got too purchasing it. However, it was in the holiday set with the Solstice Palette, so now I have it as well.

I’m not going to lie, I was a bit disappointed when I saw the lipstick itself. I had thought it’d be more of a brownish pink color, whereas this seems really pink on me, and don’t get me wrong, I love pink lipsticks, it’s just not what I expected. The doe-foot applicator is a tad weird as well, it’s a longer than I’m used to, but it’s smaller as well, so I’ll have to see how that works for me.

I haven’t really tried the lipstick itself yet, so I can’t really say anything about it yet, but I will play around with it more soon.

1-4448
Swatch of Birthday Suit – Dip It eyeliner

Dip-it eyeliner

Since I ran out of my Kat von D tattoo liner, I’ve been on the search for good eyeliners. So, I thought why not try this one also? So far I really like it. It’s really black, and doesn’t bleed when swatched on my hand, as some other eyeliners tend to do. I’m not too sure about the applicator yet, as eyeliner is still something I need to master. However, I’m sure I can make this work.

Have you tried any Sleek Makeup products yet? If so, what are some of your favorites? Let me know in the comments!

Saskia

 

Follow me here:

Instagram
Facebook
Bloglovin’
Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Sleek makeup: First impression

    1. I haven’t tried out their eyeshadow palettes. They are super gorgeous but I feel like I currently have some really good palettes which I can do a lot with. X

Leave a Reply

