Clinique take the day off cleansing balm

Hey guys! I forgot to ask in my last posts, but I changed the layout of my blog, what do you guys think of it? Also, I’m trying to get back to posting regularly, but I’m feeling a little uninspired at the moment and I just have some busy weeks scheduled. Will try my best to get back to posting 3 times a week ASAP though. Anyways, today I will be reviewing the Clinique ‘Take the day off’ cleansing balm, which I actually already got a couple of months ago, but didn’t really try until recently. So, let’s get started!

This cleansing balm was recommended to me, so I went ahead and purchased it. It was around 24€, which is a bit more on the pricier side for me. However, it is quite a big pot  (125 ml – 3.8 oz) and I think it’ll last you a couple of months, so if you look at it more closely, it is not that pricey.

Texture + scent

It is what it says it is, namely a solid balm that transforms into an oil upon application. It feels really smooth, both in the jar and when on the face.

It doesn’t really have a scent, a light kind of buttery scent maybe, but nothing overwhelming and you honestly can barely smell it. Even though I really like scented or perfumed products, I do prefer no scent for face products.

Application

I noticed that the balm doesn’t really 1-4724seem to work well if you use it wrong. You have to take some of the balm and put it on your face when it is dry. Then you make circling motions to get makeup off or cleanse your face. Then you rinse it off and voila, you’re good to go.

The first time I used it, I applied it on dampened skin and I felt like it didn’t work and I had to get my Makeup Eraser to get my makeup off, so it’s important that you apply it to dry skin.

Review

Even though I wasn’t convinced the first time (because of the wrong application obviously), I really love it now. It gets my makeup off so easily, it doesn’t leave me with irritated skin (which cotton pads can do if you have lots of face makeup on), and it is safe to use for both eyes and face. It can leave a kind of haze over the eyes for a minute or so, which is annoying but it’s not harmful or doesn’t hurt at all.

1-4728I did the test a couple of times to see if it got all my makeup off, and went over my face with a cotton pad with cleansing toner and nothing came off, which is really nice. Usually when I use my micellar water or makeup remover, there will still be some makeup left, but this removes every last bit of it, even liquid lipstick with no trouble at all!

I also really like that this is perfect for my sensitive skin as this is not a harsh product, and it also does not dry out my skin.

Conclusion

I really like this product. It is an effective cleanser, gets your makeup off so easily, doesn’t dry out or irritate your skin. It might seem a bit pricey at first, but it’s a big jar and will last you quite a while.

 

Have you tried this product? If so, what is your opinion on it?

Saskia

 

Follow me here:

Instagram
Facebook
Bloglovin’
Twitter

14 thoughts on “Clinique take the day off cleansing balm

    1. It does not leave anything behind after using this! I usually just rinse it off with a wash cloth after using it. I do cleanse my face an extra time though just to get every last bit off X

Leave a Reply

